Dear Diary,

The Mamas have been praising me for being such a good watch dog lately. It’s mostly because I found my inner beagle. Or maybe it’s my inner dachshund. Whatever it is, I have this irrepressible (I know! Another big word!) need to bark at anything that makes a strange noise. I also bark at people I don’t like. Here’s a picture of me practicing on the couch! I thought I heard a strange noise at the front door. It turned out to be nothing at all, but Mama M. said it’s better to be safe than sorry. I think she meant “bark all the time”! That’s why I practice.

Last week, Mama L. came home with a really pretty present from her friend Amy.It looked really yummy, just like candy, but it didn’t have any taste whatsoever.  Mama L. said that it is a Jade from Big Sur! I don’t know who Big Sur is, but why couldn’t he make Jade that tastes like candy? What’s the point of making something really pretty if it doesn’t taste good? Then Mama L. explained that it’s a rock, not food, and that I should leave it alone because it’s supposed to be for the office. I gave it another lick, just to be sure, but that make the Rock even shinier! But it still didn’t taste any better, so I went off to find something I know is good.

Leave a Reply

