Dear Auntie Peggy,

I am so happy!! You don’t know how happy I am to have you as my very own No. 1 Fan! I have always wanted my very own fan, ever since Madeleine told me all about Ms. Karen, her No. 1 Fan. I am not sure what privileges come along with having a fan, but Big Sis trots around the house like she’s the Princess, so I figured it must be a good thing. I would trot around the house, too, but I would probably get in trouble. Big Sis is always putting me in my place, because she’s supposed to be the alpha top dog, and that’s what top dogs do. Or at least that’s what she tells me.

You should tell your Fiona the Cat that I am VERY respectful of cats. I never mess with Annabelle at all, because Mama L. tells me she’s an old girl and I need to be very careful with her because I’m like a bull in a china shop. I don’t know what any of that means, but Annabelle has very sharp nails and I don’t mess with her. Beatrice, on the other hand, is fun to stalk. I like to follow her around the house and bark at her so she would play with me. But she’s not really the playing type, at least not with me, although I’ve seen her rub up against Madeleine every now and then. She doesn’t do that with me, though, because I’m not the alpha top dog.

But I do so love the squirrels in our neighborhood, Auntie Peggy! When Mama L. walks me around the neighborhood, I try to talk to all the squirrels. There’s one in particular down the block that likes to tease me by throwing little red seeds at me. I don’t mind at all, and instead, would just sit right down and whiny at the squirrel. She seems to enjoy this exchange although she doesn’t seem to understand a word of doganese. I don’t understand a word of squirrelnese, but I can always tell when they get agitated. Their tails pump up and down a lot. One time, I witnessed a stand-off between Stanley the Cat and Ahab the Cat down the street. Rex the Cat was sitting in the middle of the street watching those two hiss at each other. But a squirrel (whom I have yet to meet) was sitting on top of a tree branch right above Stanley and Ahab, and was cackling away, throwing pine cones at them. It was such a good show!

I hope I get to meet you some day, Auntie Peggy! Mama L. told me you’re the greatest Auntie a dog like me could ever ask for. I ask the Mamas to find a song so I can show you my appreciation. Here it is!

Leave a Reply

