Your-wish-is-my-command (rice flour, orange blueberry) pancakes!

Over the 4th of July weekend, I cooked a few items that were really yummy. Early one morning Michelle woke up and said “I want pancakes for breakfast!” But we don’t have any pancake mix. And I thought we were staying away from gut-bomb foods in general. “Well, how hard can it be?”, she said, “It’s just flour eggs and milk.”

My eyes narrowed. She does this to me on purpose. She knows I have a hard time resisting a creative challenge, especially when it comes to cooking. I do the same thing to Iris, when we’re at the gym. “It’s ok if you can only do 40 pounds”, I would say, and then she adds another 20 pounds on the machine just to prove me wrong.

Anyway, this came out SO good that even my friend Juniper asked for it (and she’s pretty picky when it comes to sharing recipes). This is dairy-free, gluten-free, light, fluffy, and bursting with flavor! And I’m not saying that because I made it. It is seriously good! Mind you, this is what we have available in our cupboard — you can make substitutes along the way. The light and fluffy part, I’ve decided, came from us not using any milk or regular flour.

1 C. rice flour (white or brown)
3 T. tapioca flour
1 T. sugar
1 t. xanthan gum
1-1/2 t. baking powder
1/2 t. baking soda
1/2 t. salt
2 eggs
1 C. fresh squeezed orange juice w/pulp (about 3 oranges)
1 C. coconut water or coconut juice
A handful of dried blueberries (fresh ones will probably be too tart)
A pinch of cinnamon
A dash of vanilla

Mix all that up in a big bowl with a hand blender until just thick enough. Pour a small ladel-full onto a greased hot pan. (The “dimples” or “bubbles” won’t form with gluten-free flour, so you’ll have to judge when it’s just a little brown on the bottom before flipping it over.) Serve with butter and maple syrup, and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Your-wish-is-my-command (rice flour, orange blueberry) pancakes!

  1. Oooo, that sounds and looks SOOOO good! Thanks for sharing the recipe! Maybe we can have some in September? Birthday pancakes!

Leave a Reply

