Dear Diary,

Madeleine was really mean to me today. I don’t know what got into her, but she was snarling and growling at me all morning. Even Mama L. noticed it and was really concerned. Madeleine cornered me this morning and made all the hair on my back stood straight up. Mama L. had to intervene and yelled at her a couple of times. I haven’t seen her so mean in a long time, and I didn’t even do anything. Mama L. said it must be the rivalry thing between siblings; I just don’t think it was fair at all.

And as if that wasn’t bad enough, we have a new monster in the neighborhood! He lives at the second house in from the corner. He waits for me, when I have to do my morning walk, and then he jumps out and throws up water at me. Mama L. said that his name is “Sprinkler”, and that he’s not a monster but just a thing and that I’m “over reacting”. And then she tried to get me to come up to him, but I just couldn’t do it. He’s just too scary. And if he’s really a thing, like Mama L. said, then how come he always know when I’m just about to get to his yard? This has happened every day for the past week now. Right around 7 in the morning, when I have to go real bad. It would be all quiet, and then he would pop up out of nowhere and spit water at me! I don’t want to go anywhere near that corner, but Mama L. still tries to make me. I just stayed behind her, though, the whole time.

There was one more thing that worried me today. I heard this song for the first time. Mama L. was singing it, and she sounded real happy. But it can’t be a good thing. How could the “Dog Days Are Over” be a good thing?

2 thoughts on “Dear Diary,

Leave a Reply

