Dear Journal,

My sister slandered me by telling the world that I was scared of snow. I am not scared of snow. I am not scared of anything. I was barking only because I was amused at how the little tiny trees on the ground covered with snow looked like little human beings. Seriously. I was not scared.

What does scare me, though, is that the Mamas have been doing way too much research on the things that dogs can or cannot eat ever since my little operation. OK, I get it. Clumping kitty litter, not OK. But rawhide? Come on! It’s almost natural, right? Isn’t it raw + hide!

Mama L. found several websites saying how bad it is to give us rawhide. Apparently it’s not even real — they add chemicals to it. And if chunks of it are swallowed, it could expand up to four times its original size and could cause blockage.

In the wild, canines eat the organs first, then the meat and muscle, and then they (maybe) gnaw on the bones to get at the marrow. The hide is almost always left behind.

Well, there goes another one of our treats. At least our pizzles are still on the good list:

“Bully Sticks also known as Bully’s, beef stick or pizzles, are a dog treat made from a dried bull’s penis. Since it is all beef, these are 100% digestible. There have been no known reports of  bully sticks producing problems which are often associated with rawhide, cow’s hooves and other chewy treats, such as choking or bowel obstruction.”

Here are some links:

http://www.pawfun.com/2009/03/is-rawhide-safe-for-your-dog/ http://www.bestbullysticks.com/blog/dog-news/is-rawhide-safe-for-dogs/ http://www.k911.biz/Petsafety/RawhideandChewyTreats.htm

 

2 thoughts on “Dear Journal,

  1. Dear Little Ginger,

    Gosh, you can’t be too careful, living as we are in this faux environment! You should be grateful that your mamas are so diligent in finding out what’s good for you and what isn’t. I’m wondering about that bull: Was he dried to begin with, or was just his penis? I’m glad the mamas enjoyed the panforte I made but I’m sorry that it caused you to be sad! Next time I’ll make a “pan doggie” that doesn’t contain nuts or anything else that could cause you tummy aches. The problem is that we don’t always know what to be afraid of and what we should be but are not. Snow, for instance. I’m so happy to know that you had fun in it! Also that you had that wonderful trip to the mountains and the gold country! Aren’t you glad that your mamas and grandparents included you on that great outing?

    As for the stresses at work for Mama L, me and many others, it is SO reassuring to know that you are there and so sweet of you to offer to share your treats. Thank you!

    Love,
    Auntie Peggy

Leave a Reply

