Dear Abby,

I am in a quandary, and I need your advice. Two years ago I got my No. One Fan (let’s call her “Miss K”), who loved and adored me and even named her cat after me. I would write to her every now and then on my blog, telling her all about my adventures and letting her know what was going on in my neighborhood. Occasionally she would return nice comments for me, and it would always make me happy to hear from her. Although it was irregular, I could always expect a nice note from Miss K every so often. Well, this stopped about six months ago, and I haven’t heard from Miss K since then. I know that people have things going on in their lives, and Miss K probably just got busy. I didn’t mind it so much, but I figured Miss K had already forgotten about me and moved on.

So, a couple of days ago, I asked Miss S on my blog if she would like to be my new No. One Fan, to which I was so happy to hear “yes”! It is such a good feeling to have a No. One Fan! I was looking forward to this new relationship, when lo and behold, Miss K resurfaced! She apologized for being missing in action, but she had been very busy.

So now I don’t know what to do. Should I rescind my offer to Miss S? Should I have two No. One Fans? Any thoughts you can provide would be greatly appreciated!

Quandarified in Oakland

P.S.  Mama L. said it’s unlikely that you would respond to a dog, but she pointed out that my chances would be improved if I tell you that it’s a similar analogy to having a Maid-of-Honor who backed out and then came back.

BTW, my name is Madeleine. I am pretty sure that no other dog in Oakland has the same quandary.

 

 

https://loungelassie.wordpress.com

5 thoughts on “Dear Abby,

  1. Excuse me, but Little Gingersnap! already has her own No. 1 Fan — me! Not that I wish to be territorial here. I’ve always believed that a little one can’t have too many aunties and uncles who care about her or him. So, however you dear pups decide to designate us,

    I remain your,
    Auntie Peggy (aka Little G!’s No. 1 Fan!)

  2. And, besides, that is just preposterous, Auntie Iris! Little Gingersnap! can’t possibly have another No. 1 Fan, or even a No. 2 Fan. **I** am the Alpha Dog around here! If anybody is going to have two No. 1 Fan, it should be ME!

    Love,
    The One and Only Madeleine, with possibly two Number 1 Fans.

  3. Hi Madeleine,
    There is no need to worry over this. I’ll be your friend, number #1 or whatever designation you choose. I do, however, have one request…I need more practice time with my Doganese.

    S.

Leave a Reply

